A Waterford Treasures Museum
Step inside Viking Waterford
Reginald’s Tower is Waterford’s landmark monument and Ireland’s oldest civic building. It has been in continuous use for over 800 years. The first tower on the site was built by Vikings after 914 and formed the apex of the triangular settlement, an area known to this day as the Viking Triangle. Re-built by the Anglo Normans in the 12th century the top two floors were added in the 15th century. Until about 1700 the tower was the strongpoint of the medieval defensive walls that enclosed the city. The tower now houses an exhibition on Viking Waterford and is managed by the Office of Public Works.
Some of the greatest Viking treasures in Ireland are on display in Reginald’s Tower, including the stunning Kite Brooch, the Viking Warrior’s sword, dog collar and the decorated face weight. It’s also possible to see a cannon ball stuck in the external wall. The cannon ball dates from the siege of Waterford by the army of Oliver Cromwell in 1650 when ships on the river Suir bombarded the city with cannon fire. A similar cannonball is on display on the top floor of the tower.
Reginald’s Tower is the first in the chronological series of Waterford Treasures Museums and one of the key visitor attractions in Ireland’s Ancient East.
Directions will appear here